Book Review on Twisted Up by Erin Nicholas 

This is my first book by this author and I can’t comment much. The thoughts that I’ll be reviewing are on the plot itself.


Avery Sparks is a master at controlling chaos and she gets plenty of opportunities as fire chief and head of emergency management in her hometown of Chance, Nebraska.

Jake Mitchell enlist in the Army National Guard and became a nationally recognised leader in disaster recovery.

Avery and Jake had been in a relationship before Jake left Chance without a goodbye. Now, Avery and Jake must team up to help their hometown weather a siege of violent storms. But it’s clear to them both that nature isn’t the only force they’ll have to reckon with. 

I spent a night finishing up this book and I chided myself what an idiot I am. When I first read the chapter, I almost gave up the book. But I just continue so that I’ll know what really happen between Avery and Jake’s parents. Avery had spent her growing up with Jake’s Mother. Her own birth Mother had discarded her and her Grandmother had been abusing her emotionally. When she turn 18, her Grandmother packed her belongings and ask Avery to leave as she’s no longer her obligation. Avery’s upset but she went to look for Jake when she learnt that he’s gone and the only Mother figure she ever known, Jake’s Mother, ask her to leave Chance. Avery is upset that she’s being betrayed and she left without any backward glance. Now. Avery and Jake didn’t see each other for almost a decade and they happen to saw each other at the shelter and he kissed her when the place went dark. Since from that moment, he’s been kissing her whenever he saw her. And vice versa, she let him. I almost lost my respect for Avery when I read them having sex at their former school’s shed when they’re supposed to pick something up. My turnmoil is “Where’s your self respect girl?” As for Jake, he’s a seriously diagnosed Hero complex character. He’s obsessed with Avery cos the women who cross his path are willing to kneel and worship him as god but Avery wanted nothing to do with him or rather didn’t worship him like the other women did. So this Jake guy is another no no for me. Amazingly, I dislike both the main characters in the book. Next are the names popping out in the book. I know the author is trying to introduce all the characters for the next book in the series but sometimes it’s too much and many from the start. 

My conclusion, I won’t stop at this book. I’ll give the next book in this series a go and I’ll decide whether I’ll read this author’s future works or not.

 

Leave a Reply

